Promenade n° 10 : En Maffe

Datum: 06/11/2019

This walk will take you through beautiful landscapes of the Famenne.

Cross the bridge and turn right onto rue du Batty. At the end of the car park, turn left. Next crossroads, turn right onto the road which crosses a residential campsite and which becomes a stony path. Walk along the facilities of a sawmill (specializing in beech) and continue straight on a path bordered by hedges. The path gradually joins the Ourthe, bordered by ash and alder trees very popular with beavers. On your left are the remains of a log eaten by beavers.
After passing a plantation of poplars, the path climbs quickly to the left, deviating from the Ourthe to head towards the railway line (dangerous because of a narrow path and no palisades). The path crosses mixed woods, and gradually widens.
At the crossroads of the three paths, continue straight on a wide stony path which leads to a new residential area of ​​Hotton *. Continue straight on to join the N86 (Hotton * - Marche). Cross, head towards Hotton * (on the left) and quickly take the concrete road to the right towards Marenne *. After passing the sawmill, turn right onto a dirt road and enjoy a beautiful view of the Famenne. Continue straight on this path until you reach an asphalt road. A bench invites you to enjoy a beautiful view of the village of Marenne *. "T" on the left. Then, 1st road on the left towards the quarry. At the height of a bench, take a small path on the right along the fences to reach the center of the village. Playground and picnic area. From here, the promenade follows the GR 577. Turn left and go down the main street. At the cross, turn left on the asphalt path to join a wider path. Continue straight ahead, join the road and go left. "Y" on the left. Stay on the main road. After the Notre-Dame chapel, take the Rue de Maffe on the left, a road which leads to a beautiful panoramic view (we can see the Tohogne branch on the right in particular). Picnic table. The road descends towards the valley and turns into a path as it enters the wood. Continue straight ahead and pass a stone cross in memory of a certain Jacques Gaillard (1850). Steep descent to the Maffe stream. Large rocky outcrops. The path turns into a concrete path to reach the Saint-Gilles chapel (small limestone chapel). Take the main street to the center of Hotton *

Changing Cookie Settings

Dear users, this website stores cookies on your computer. Their purpose is to improve your website experience while providing you with more personalized services.

If you would like more information about the cookies we use, please see our Privacy Policy. By accepting cookies, you consent to their use. You can also adjust their settings.

If you refuse cookies, your information will not be tracked when you visit this site. Only one cookie will be used in your browser to remember your preference not to be tracked.

  • Change the parameters
  • Accept all cookies and continue to the website

Promenade n° 10 : En Maffe

Date: 06/11/2019

Cette promenade vous emmènera à travers de beaux paysages de la Famenne.

Traverser le pont et prendre à droite rue du Batty. Au bout du parking, prendre à gauche. Carrefour suivant prendre à droite la route qui traverse un camping résidentiel et qui devient un chemin empierré. Longer les installations d’une scierie (spécialisée dans le hêtre) et continuer tout droit sur un chemin bordé de haies vives. Le chemin rejoint progressivement l’Ourthe, bordée de frênes et aulnes très appréciés par les castors. Sur votre gauche les restes d’un tronc mangé par les castors.
Après avoir longé une plantation de peupliers, le sentier monte rapidement vers la gauche, s’écartant de l’Ourthe pour se diriger vers la voie ferrée (dangereux car chemin étroit et pas de palissades). Le chemin traverse des bois mixtes, et s’élargit progressivement.
Au carrefour des trois chemins, continuer tout droit sur un large chemin empierré qui débouche sur un nouveau quartier résidentiel de Hotton*. Continuer tout droit pour rejoindre la N86 (Hotton* – Marche). Traverser, se diriger vers Hotton* (à gauche) et prendre rapidement à droite la route bétonnée vers Marenne*. Après avoir longé la scierie, prendre à droite un chemin de terre et profiter d’une belle vue sur la Famenne. Continuer tout droit sur ce chemin jusqu’à une route asphaltée. Un banc vous invite à profiter d’une belle vue sur le village de Marenne*. « T » à gauche. Ensuite, 1ère route à gauche vers la carrière. A hauteur d’un banc, prendre à droite un petit sentier le long des clôtures pour rejoindre le centre du village. Aire de jeux et de pique-nique. À partir d’ici, la promenade suit le GR 577. Prendre à gauche et descendre la rue principale. A la croix, prendre à gauche le sentier asphalté pour rejoindre un chemin plus large. Continuer tout droit, rejoindre la route et partir à gauche. « Y » à gauche. Rester sur la route principale. Après la chapelle Notre-Dame, prendre à gauche la Rue de Maffe, route qui débouche sur une belle vue panoramique (on distingue notamment à droite l’antenne de Tohogne). Table de pique-nique. La route descend vers la vallée et se transforme en chemin à son entrée dans le bois. Continuer tout droit et dépasser une croix en pierre à la mémoire d’un certain Jacques Gaillard (1850). Forte descente vers le ruisseau de Maffe. Gros affleurements rocheux. Le sentier se transforme en chemin bétonné pour rejoindre la chapelle Saint-Gilles (petite chapelle en moellon calcaire). Prendre la rue principale jusqu’au centre de Hotton*.

Réglage des paramètres de cookies

Chers utilisateurs, ce site stocke les cookies sur votre ordinateur. Ils ont pour but d'améliorer l’expérience de votre site Web, tout en vous fournissant des services plus personnalisés.

Si vous souhaitez plus d’informations sur les cookies que nous utilisons, veuillez consulter notre Politique de confidentialité. En acceptant les cookies, vous consentez à leur utilisation. Vous pouvez également paramétrer ces derniers.

Si vous refusez, vos informations ne seront pas suivies, au moment de visiter ce site. Un seul cookie sera utilisé dans votre navigateur pour mémoriser votre préférence de ne pas être suivi.

  • Régler les paramètres
  • Accepter tous les cookies et continuer vers le site